{things I've written} {tech stuff} {cool links} {about me} {Guestbook} {Weblog}


Weblog



April 21st, 2022

Being a Parent is fun, wierd, and frustrating

So I started this weblog because there's a lot of stuff that I want to write but don't have any way to categorize. I've been working so much lately and I'm pretty tired. My daughter has spent alllllll day playing Nintendo Switch because I'm too tired to stop her. She decided it'd be a great idea to just wet herself instead of getting up to go potty. Because of this, I've spent most of the day asking her repeatedly if she needs to go potty. I don't know why she did it. She was just sitting there playing with her toys and let her rip right in the living room. She was so upset about it. One thing that I've learned about being a parent is that keeping my cool in situations like this is better than flying off the handle and yelling at her over stuff like this.


After she wet herself, she began crying. I calmly asked her why she hadn't gotten up to go to the restroom. Being a 5 year old, she doesn't have a valid reason. Even so, it's important to me to understand whatever logic may be there and hope that she confides in me about it. She cried "I didn't want to get up".


...simple enough...


After explaining to her that she needs to use the toilet if she needs to go potty, I put her in the shower and cleaned up the mess in the meantime. I made sure to make it clear to her that accidents are okay, but that she needs to be more responsible in the future. Obviously, I worded it in a more loving way that a 5 year old could understand. I'm gonna see what happens from here on out and go from there, I guess.


So what is the point of this story? I don't know. I think it's better to be empathetic towards children as opposed to simply losing your temper and screaming at them. She told me the truth because she trusted that I wouldn't get outwardly angry with her. Oh, believe me, I was angry. That being said, I remember what my parents would do when I did something wrong, and how it affected my thinking in regards to confrontations with them. I want to be a constructive parent. I love my daughter so much, and I want her to know that. You can't just say, "I love you" over and over again. You gotta show it. Even with this wierd ass event, I feel a stronger bond with her because we worked the problem out together. She is so amazing and I love her to bits.



Update: right after typing this, I noticed that she's cracked the screen on my Switch. I'm.... umm.... well I guess I've been meaning to get an OLED Switch anyway...



By merely accessing this site you waive the right to use anything I write on it against me in perpetuity throughout the universe.